Testimonials

On June 13, 2017 G.K. of Evergreen, CO wrote:

"Warren:
Told you or Shirley I'd drop a note after I got to try my new rake out. It works GREAT!! In just 10 minutes of easy raking, I got a much bigger pile than using a conventional rake for 45 minutes with much more effort. I am VERY IMPRESSED. When my friend gets home from her convention I will let her try it. 
I just have one little question, probably a stupid one, but then females can get away with asking them.....the little rubber yellow things on the end of each tine:
were they just to protect them in shipping, or are they supposed to stay on the tines? I kind of think they were to protect the sharp ends so they didn't go thru the box, but want to know for sure. Three of them came off during my 10 minute try out, & since you're the inventor, figured I better ask to be sure. 
Thanks in advance for answering my question & for making a very useful product. Gail"

On June 8, M.G. Freedom Dog Fences in Lexington, NC wrote:

"I spent a few days searching for a rake that would help me rake pine needles easier than the landscaping rake I've been using for 10 years. I bit the bullet even though I was skeptical about spending almost $100 (including shipping) for a rake.

The item shipped the same day I ordered and in two short days I had my new rake. Assembly was simple and I was ready to put this rake to the test. Worst case I was going to return it!

After putting it to the test it performed just as advertised. I am more than impressed with this product and it's worth every dollar. The time and energy I'll save is unbelievable. The rake is a little heavy but it's a good kind of heavy. It feels well made and I think the weight helps it do it's job.

I am satisfied with my purchase and would recommend this rake to anyone with pine needles!

On June 2, M. H. Of Livermore, CA wrote:
"I was very satisfied with my purchase. I raked pine needles last year with a standard leaf rake and was constantly needing to unclog after every stroke and it took me forever just to go 10' around the house. With this rake I was able to rake large amounts at a time without needing to unclog the rake and I was able to do so much more in way less time. This year I raked the whole yard plus could have easily raked more. I really think this rake is pretty awesome and I will recommend it to anyone who needs to rake those pesky pine needles."

By P. H. of Murphys, CA on 4/5/17

"RPM Rake. I got a little brochure stating that it's lightning fast. I must admit, I was concerned with the window for the shipping. I was expecting to receive my purchase in one to two weeks, but my rake arrived in only two (2) days! The rake itself is the most effective tool I've ever handled for raking thatch, pine needles, and any debris caught up within bear-clover. Lightning fast indeed."

By A.W. of Colorado Springs, CO on 3/16/17
"A very well built rake! It appears that it could outlast any warranty - no planned obsolescence."

By G. P. of Pollock Pines, CA on June 17, 2016
"WOW, just the rake I have been hunting for! Is this thing ever amazing...... within minutes it proved itself. Absolutely no clogging, very little effort and fantastic performance!!! If possible, I would give it 6 stars! At first, I "thought" the rake was a little heavy, however, it really is not, and the weight that it does have is what makes it less of an effort to complete the job."

By M.W. of Boise, ID on , 6/9/16:
"This thing is a beast on pine needles."

By L.R. of Pollock Pines, CA on 5/27/16:
Great tool for pine needles and fallout from trees. Works as stated in the literature! Great product!

By Cliff C. Of Boise, Idaho, on 5/5/16
Thank you so much for the fast service. I am having total hip June 1 and total knee July 16 so this will enable me to get things done so I will be ready. I am singing praises to all my cabin owner friends. Hopefully they will listen and buy your wonderful product.

By Richard E. of Yorktown, VA on 4/18/16
"Finally a tool worth it's price. "

By Dave S. of Monument, CO on 4/15/16
"Very fast delivery. Great product."

By Doug F. Of Burlingame, CA on 4/14/16
"This is the best rake for pine Needles. It works so well I bought my two neighbors one. "

By Dennis O. Of Phoenix, AZ. on 4/9/16,
"We llive in the forest with beautiful Ponderosa pine trees. As beautiful as they are, they drop a lot of pine needles and without the right tool it's cumbersome to clean our lot. The RPM rake makes the job much easier. It's the right tool for a big job."

By Richard E of Yorktown, VA on 3/19/16:
Got our rake and it went together quickly with no problems. Works as advertised. I don't know that I have ever seen one in these parts but I will be talking to everyone about it. Perfect solution for years of mated pine straw and cones. It took as much time to cover the trailer and tie the tarp down as it did to load it. Thank you for a great product.

We are in Yorktown, VA. I have a little over an acre with about 30, 60-80' loblolly pines and 20 odd sweet gum, oak and tulip poplar. The rake goes a long way toward cleanup. Without a full time grounds crew there is no staying on top of this but at least the illusion is a little more fun now. Thanks again and enjoy the day.

By Jo Ann H. of Chico, CA on 12/3/16
I cannot praise this rake enough!!! I work in Bidwell Park with a crew that has been clearing out large areas of undergrowth, vines, blackberry bushes, everything. This rake is used for everything! Especially thorny blackberry bushes. Once a big portion is cut I will use the RPM to roll big bundles off. We're talking BIG, BIG bundles. All without getting one scratch! They can grab a hold of heavy piles of vines that have been cut down and haul away. And if it snags on a root that that doesn't budge the tines will spring back instead of stopping you dead in your tracks. Anytime you want some videos of your rake in action, come see us at work with it. It's the best! Seriously!

By William of Sunset Beach, NC on, 10/27/15
Very prompt delivery. This rake is excellent. It is heavy enough that one drag, with little downward pressure required, grabbed all the pine straw. This tool very significantly reduces the time and effort to collect pine straw.

100 Year Rake By L on May 11, 2015
This rake does not pick up pine needles that are loosely dispersed. But it does a great job on big piles, and an even better job on twigs, thatch, and small branches. It also makes it very easy to pick up those piles and load them onto a tarp, etc.

To assemble, you'll need a ratchet set, a vice or vice grip, and another adjustable wrench or pliers. The only caveat is that it's big, and kind of heavy for a very short person.. But this is because it's so well made. It should easily last a young person's lifetime. Great house warming gift for someone buying a home in the country.

Works great on pine needles By Bruce Trout on May 6, 2015
This rake allowed me to clear my property of pine needles in one third the time. I live at 5,500 foot elevation and have lots of pine trees. Because of length and flexibility of the rake it does not get hung up on small rocks and plants. It also completely empties itself when you lift it up. This saves lots of time because you are not constantly stopping to clean it out. The long spring wire tines also collect about 3 times the amount of debris as a standard rake so you are not stopping as often. You can also use it to pick up what you just raked and place the debris in a pile. The design actually digs through the needles to the dirt. You don't have that back and forth motion, you just put it down, and drag it to the pile you are working on. It is the best pine needle rake made.

My home is in an old pine plantation and last ... By Georgia Heide on April 30, 2015
My home is in an old pine plantation and last fall we had a bumper crop of fallen pine needles. This rake really works, particularly when there are a lot of needles; much more effective than a leaf rake. A little heavy, but manageable for this 70 y/o weakling. No assembly instructions, but it wasn't too difficult to figure out.

Other rakes are useless for pine needles due to the amount of needles ... By robert payne on April 15, 2015
This rake really works for pine needles. I have a yard full of large pine trees on a half acre of land and this rake is a life saver. Other rakes are useless for pine needles due to the amount of needles that fall in my yard. Blowers are even more useless. This rake is worth every penny because it saves a lot of time. If you get a lot of pine needles this is the rake for you.

Five Stars By Jerry G Jones on April 12, 2015
This product really speeds the clearing and pickup of pine straw.

Five Stars By joe boyd on March 30, 2015
This rake works well when there is an accumulation of needles

Perfect Rake for Long Leaf Pines. By Rip Snow on March 27, 2015
It is extremely well made and given the fact that I live in the deep South, it is a blessing when the straw comes in around August. No other commercially available rakes from the hardware store can touch it. Used to be able to buy these down here commonly then they just disappeared. I'm so thankful for RPM seeing the market need and meeting it so well. Thank you.

It's GREAT! By Park person on February 22, 2015
This rake has made a really arduous task much easier. We have acres of ponderosa pine on hilly terrain and worry about fire danger. This tool has cut the amount of time and effort spent raking by more than half, and was absolutely worth the price.

Five Stars By Glenn Troness on December 28, 2014
Best ever if used properly

I love this rake By R. Mesenbrink on December 8, 2014
I love this rake. It's big and heavy, but that's so it does the work. Just pull the rake over the ground, no need to hold it down, and then just lift it off the pile of needles. The needles don't stick in the rake. Awesome!

Works great with ridiculous price By Db "db3058" on November 25, 2014
The price on this thing is ridiculous but it works great for pine needles.

Great Invention By William Strickland on November 3, 2014
The USPS delivered our two (2) rakes, Saturday, Nov 1 as predicted. We immediately
assembled them and despite the rain went out and gave them a shot. Today in the sunshine we finished the job in less than half the time it typically has taken. The experience was vastly improved compared to years of past with our conventional rakes.

They not only do an outstanding job but the experience is easier on the back and arms. Just place it on the ground and drag it wherever. We used it on both our gravel drive and our Bermuda lawn. I can see where they'll be a value plus for the lawn as they catch some of the Bermuda runners and break them into smaller pieces. This provides a similar benefit to vertical mowing allowing for the lawn to thicken and grow stronger.

I'm surprised in the eight years I've lived here in North Carolina where they gather and sell baled Pine Needles commercially that I've never seen nor heard of these rakes or anything close. We went to several hardware stores, Tru Value, Sears, Home Depot, Lowes as well as a couple Mom & Pop hardwares but nothing was available and they had never heard of Pine needle hand rakes. Some did have huge drag behind the tractor or riding mower but they are pricey and cumbersome for a residential lawn. Some tried to convince me that their landscaping rakes (which I have) worked well. NOT!

Great invention fellow! If you had a contract with one of the home improvement chain stores in the Sandhills area of NC you could probably make a fortune. We are grateful for your invention and Thank You very much. Now mowing the lawn won't be such a drudgery, just EZ Rake jump on the rider and mow. Every few days.

For myself I wouldn't mind having them a foot or two wider but I can understand your compromise.

Hat's Off,
Bill

Five Stars By Alex Ure on October 30, 2014
this rake does exactly what the manufacturer says it does, saved me hours of endless raking

Worth every penny By thfiv "truth hurts" on October 13, 2014
Every homeowner and farmer should own one of these. Works great on mulch, pine needles, hay, pine bark, grass clippings, mule dung ..... I cannot wait to buy one with tines closer together for everything else.

It's worth the money By SuperNaturalBird on August 29, 2014
This rake is one of those purchases I should of made a long time ago. I'm a landscaper with my own business and I bought this in hopes of being that much more efficient. It certainly is a very efficient rake. It will handle large amounts of debris at a time. So far I've used it on brush, ivy, laurel and escallonia hedge clippings. It makes it incredibly easy to clean up. I was using a 'groundskeeper 2' spring tine rake which worked so good I was thinking if I could find one with larger tines, I could move more and found this one. I also recommend getting a groundskeeper 2 for finer detailing. Buy this rake, you will be happy. Also, shipping was faster than estimated.

Best rake for pine needles and forest debris By Ronald Kaufman on June 16, 2014
I started out skeptical about an $80 rake until I borrowed my neighbors' RPM rake. We had to do a lot of land clearing for homeowners insurance requirements on pine needle covered uneven rocky soil. That rake is nothing short of fantastic. It doesn't hang up on anything and rolls the needles up with ease. I now own this tool myself and don't know how I ever got along without it.

Far Superior to ANY Rake that we Had for our Work Party in the Forest! By Lavender on May 9, 2014
Believe it or not, we raked up enough pine needles to fill up a 1,500 square foot home in 2 days! Easily the RPM Hand Rake did 75% of the work. We only had one of these great rakes everyone was wanting to use it since it was far superior any other rake that we had on hand we even broke 2 of the plastic ones! If someone put the RPM Handrake down for a moment someone else would swipe it quickly since it was so easy to use!

We purchased three more for the next work party in the forest!!!

Thank you Warren and Shirley for inventing and marketing such a GREAT product!!

Awesome By Pat Lytle on April 22, 2014

Awesome rake; was able to clean up our 1.5 acre property in less than a day. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a better alternative to a leaf rake.

Now what do I do with all the pine needles?! --By craigery on March 28, 2014
I have a dense carpet of pine needles that has built up over decades on a couple acres of undeveloped land I own. I needed to remove them. This tool is absolutely perfect for raking pine needles! It might also work well if one was cleaning up a lot of straw/hay in a barn -- anything that is fairly long. The rake wasn't ideal for raking up redwood tree duff, which is shorter and not as dense as pine needles. I didn't try this on leaves, but more than likely if one has very small, loose leaves the rake probably doesn't work well; but if you have a dense mat of leaves, even wet leaves, it would probably work well.

The best way of describing this tool is it is a functional cross of a hay baler and a rake!

The thatch rake described by another reviewer is really a different type of tool; the thatch rakes I saw really weren't designed to do the heavy pine straw removal that this tool is designed for.

The tool is well made. I did have to purchase a slightly shorter lag bolt at a hardware store because the handle was just too strong.

This rake really works on pine straw! By L.A. on December 31, 2013
My house sits on a large lot and I have numerous long leaf pines. Raking pine straw from the lawn is a twice a year task that I used to dread. I've tried plastic rakes, metal rakes; neither worked well and the tines would clog up with pine straw. It would usually take me a full day and half to rake using conventional rakes and it was an awful and exhausting task (and I always got blisters even though using good leather work gloves). The RPM ez Hand Rake is simply amazing. I raked all the pine straw on my lot in about four hours, and, no blisters! This rake really works and was well worth the money spent. By dragging the rake over the lawn, I quickly created rows that I pushed into piles by turning the rake over and using it to push the pine straw. The rake also clears all pine straw with one pass. It's well built and stout and I have no doubt it will last for years and years. The hardwood handle is robust and the tines and hardware are quality.

RPM Easy By Scott Atchley on December 17, 2013
The best rake or should I say 3 tools in one cuts the raking time in half does not clog and works great around gravel driveways I would definitely recommend. to see it work go to youtube & look for RPM Rake.

For Northeasters with white pine needles...By KonKal "KonKal" on November 19, 2013
In the Northeast, White Pine is referred to by landscapers as nature's litterbug; they are always dropping something down onto your lawn. In the fall, they shed their thin, 3-4 inch long needles and will carpet your lawn with such density that you can't see the grass. Leave them there and you'll have no lawn next season, so, how best to pick them up?

Options for picking up pine needles are hiring someone else to do it, raking, leaf blower, push mower with collection bag and a ride-on mower with a leaf vac attached. I can't comment on the ride-on mower with a leaf vac option as my terrain is too sloped (I've been curious if they are effective). Raking with a normal rake is slow going and tedious. The problem is that the needles sift down through the grass into the thatch layer requiring several passes to get a section cleaned up. Leaf blowing is slow for the same reason (plus the needles are heavy). Raking also means picking up the needles by hand (often true with the leaf blower as well). The push mower with collection bag has been my best option as it requires the least time. That said, it still is a tedious process with frequent emptying of the bag and multiple passes to get all the needles. It's better than a traditional rake, but not by much.

Along comes the RPM EZ Hand Rake - - - phew!

Is it more efficient than my traditional rake, leaf blower or push mower? Yes. It took less time, it provided a pleasant cardio workout and it made enjoying the outdoors much better as I didn't have the noise and stink of a mower. Was it perfect? Not quite, but it will be my go-to tool for picking up needles off my lawn in the fall. Here is my list of pro's and con's:
PRO'S
  • Using the rake is easy, just drag it (let its own weight do the work). It's nice exercise too.
  • Rake doesn't clog - ever; no stopping to clean out tines.
  • Works just as efficiently with either dry or wet needles; yes, you can be just as effective working in the rain.
  • Picks up leaves along with the needles.
  • Quiet - you can hear birds while you work (neighbors will be happier too).
  • Stink-free - no gasoline exhaust.
  • Picking up needles is done with the rake by flipping it and using it like a pitch fork, easy and faster - no bending over.
  • It gets what it gets in one pass; no hitting the same spot with multiple passes.
  • It reaches right down into the thatch layer getting the needles that have settled down deep into the lawn and which are so hard to get with a traditional rake or leaf
    blower. It also plucks up a bit of the lawn thatch which is healthy for your lawn.
  • One go per season. In the past, I would practically pick up the needles as they fell because it was much easier than if they sat on the lawn and worked their way down into it. The EZ rake reaches deep, if fact it works better when there are more needles. From now on, my fall lawn cleanup will be a one time job.
  • Long handle, especially good for tall people.
  • The more needles, the better the rake works.
  • Great customer support - personal attention.
  • Online video tutorial.
  • American made.
  • Great entrepreneurial enterprise ... and I like supporting small USA businesses.


CON'S
  • Nope, it doesn't get every needle; my experience was that it picked up about 80-90% depending on the type of lawn and needle density (more needles is better).
  • If you are real picky and want to get those remaining needles off your lawn, you'll come back using another means of needle removal. In my case, I do a final pass with the leaf blower late in the fall after everything, even oak leaves, are down.
  • If your lawn is thin (a poor root system) the rake might be too much and tear up some of the lawn itself. This was my experience, but, these same thin areas were also vulnerable to the traditional rake and leaf blower. No problems where the lawn was healthy and robust (alas, my weaker areas were under the pines).
  • You do have to assemble the rake when it arrives, not an issue even if all you have are a few basic tools.


Conclusion: Overall a better experience at all levels: less work, easier work, quieter work and stink-free work. My lawn is happy too.

Perfect for cleaning up Pine Needles By Ann C "High Mountain Living" on August 18, 2013
This rake has become the tool of choice when cleaning up the forest floor. We live on several acres of Ponderosa pine forest and these trees drop a large amount of needles. This rake works great for moving the needles into piles and for picking up and dumping into a trailer for hauling away. It does not clog up and it does not destroy the ground vegetation. It also does a great job of raking up needles that have fallen on to landscape rock without moving all the rocks. The quality of the tool is also outstanding. I was concerned about spending so much money on a rake but now I am planning to buy a second one and give away our leaf rakes which are impossible to use on pine needles.

Worth the $$ By Dgo Rescuer on July 26, 2013
We have a cabin in the high country with lots of Ponderosa Pines. This rake makes easy work of piling up the pine needles and dumping them into trash bags. A must have for those who need to keep their property clean to reduce the fire hazard.

Great for rough terrain! By CK on July 14, 2013
I live in the foothills of Colorado very close to the Waldo fire burn scar. The wildfires that have occurred over the past year have seriously motivated my husband and I to do some mitigation to protect our home. After a 1/2 day of fighting with a leaf rake, I spent some time searching for a better tool for this type of work. I found the RPM ez Hand Rake, watched the video, read the reviews and decided to take a chance. Wow! It was totally worth it! This rake pulls up inches of pine needles without clogging and doesn't get bogged down with the pinecones. It's sturdy enough to handle the rock and vegetation obstacles that litter the land. On its first day of use, I was twice as effective (if not more) in my efforts and my complaining was reduced to zero.